For You Lovely Moms-To-Be and Moms-To-Be-Again!

flowers and sky

 

“He tends his flock like a shepherd: He gathers the lambs in his arms and carries them close to his heart; he gently leads those that have young.” Isaiah 40:11

 

Hello lovely mom-to-be or mom-to-be-again,

I hope you are doing well.

Pregnancy, the excitement and expectation of a new life, is such a mixed up, emotional time. Joy, impatience, fear and overwhelming love are all rolling around in your “soon to be a mommy” brain. (plus the hormones… we have to give those kind creatures some much due credit!)
I truly wish I’d been blogging long enough to have written about the things I’ve learned from my 3 little birds when it comes to birth to 1 year, but I have not.

I hope to have some posts that pertain more to your season of life… soon!

I do want to share with you a book that helped me immensely. The Happiest Baby on the Block by Harvey Karp. I came across it when I was pregnant with my third child and I wished I’d had it from the beginning!

I suggest reading it before your sweet blessing is in your arms! It explains why most babies just don’t seem like they were quite ready to be apart of the outside world. Why their systems are not functioning as well as they will and why the first three months are a bit intense.

  • Be good to your baby by being good to yourself and do what you need to do during the first three months.
  • Ask for help (this is a perfect time to let pride die!)
  • Take time to sit down
  • Be honest with your spouse about your feelings/needs (logical seeming or not) they are your feelings/needs and they are valid
  • Trust your God given mom-instincts (It will seem that others who have gone before you should know best, and a lot of times we do have good advice, but there will be times when you know best)

 

You’re about to learn how strong of a woman you are… and YOU ARE STRONG!!

I hope this book will bring some clarity and I wish you all the best!!

If you have any questions or need prayer, please, please, please email me through Facebook or through the link below.

I will help as best I can or direct you to someone who has much deeper wisdom than I do.

 

It’s Been a Pleasure,

Your Moderate Mama

 

Other Books I Love:

Encouragement/Christ Centered Focus: The Mission of Motherhood: Touching Your Child’s Heart for Eternity by Sally Clarkson

Pregnancy and Parenting Humor (this book saved my crazy brain-I needed to laugh!!): The Diaper Diaries: The Real Poop on a New Mom’s First Year

 

EMAIL ME!

